Being an ‘Apple fan’, I find it very exciting when new products/software updates are announced. Monday’s refinements/updates were definitely welcome, and I particularly found the iOS/Mac updates to be the most signifigant. As each year passes by, I find that Apple’s updates slowly (but surely) add up in incremental amounts. Each new software update is an improvement over the last and brings Apple closer to perfection. Below are some of my thoughts on what was revealed at WWDC 2015:

1) The split-screen and multitasking features in iOS 9 seem very welcome, especially considering that many other devices already offer these features. I could easily see myself blogging and texting at the same time on one device! I do think, however, that it may be challenging for some people to catch on to these various skills. Take myself, for example, and envision me texting and blogging at the same time. First of all, I would need to develop the multitasking skills to reach that level of thought. In addition, I would need to change my old habits and adapt to the new ones that iOS 9 has to offer.

2) Another feature that I found nice was how iOS 9 takes up less space than iOS 8. In addition, iOS 9 is more efficient and requires less power to function properly. This means that battery-times on Apple’s various devices could increase almost an hour extra… That sounds really nice! Essentially… less charging, lower electric bills, more freedom.

3) I do think that the above two features will be the most noticeable updates within iOS 9. However, the new updates to Siri seem to be just as significant. One of my favorite features about Siri (in iOS8) is how you can ask her (or him) what song is playing and you will get instant feedback. In iOS 9, this is taken even further by the fact that Siri can even tell you what song was #1 on any given day in recorded history! Do you run a radio station and need something to talk about? Just ask Siri what the most popular song was on January 1984, and wala!

Check back next week for another Tech Tuesday!

-Nathan